First Story: Terran

For years I have been an avid reader of fanfiction.  I would spend my hours, whether day or night, reading stories because they were too adicting to put down.  It was so easy to get lost in the stories that I tended to lose track of time.  So one day I thought I would start a story just to see how  I would do.  But the problem was, what to write about.  Fanfiction is what I would call a multi-story based site, because all of the stories are based on games, anime, movies, and comics.  You name it, it got it.  So first I had to pick a story that I know backwards and frowards.  I narrowed it down…to a couple dozen.  The next thing would be to write something I would really love to write about.  The story line that came to mind was my all time favorite- Mass Effect.  I wanted to do so many different scenarios, and  make certain events happen that was impossible in the game.

But then I was faced with another problem, how good were my writing skills?  A story requires a plot, goals, a protagonist and an antagonist.  Maybe add some romance, a plot twist, gore or horror, and a good cliffhanger.  There are hundreds of ways I could write the story.  Also another problem was if I did try to do an add on,  would I excute it properly?  Will I make it too detailed or not detailed enough?  There were many problems that I couldn’t account for so I came up with an idea of doing a test run.

I needed an open plot story where there are enough holes to make a free thinking writing, but closed enough to where I can follow a guideline if I needed to.  I thought why not Star Wars.  Most know about the Star Wars movies and if you are a kid or have kids then you probably have seen the animated version as well.  Star wars has a lot of open holes, the movies basically follow the Skywalker family while the series talked about the Clone Wars.  So i could do a fanfiction on them, but then I took it a step further and decide to make the story a self insert.

I decided to put it to paper to show what I would do…in theory.  Now mind you I was doing this to find out where my writing skills were, so I was going to pull out as many stops as I could while sticking to the story.  Which would include but not be limited too, action, adventure, romance, erotica, suspense, and gore.

It has been almost a year now, and so far I have learned two things.  One is that I could probably write a book and make some money off of it.  Barring that I fix my grammar .  In addition, you never kill off a favorite character, everyone goes ballistic about that.

That’s it then, how the creation of Terran took place….like it’s an actual book.   Anyway, if you ever have the urge to read my stories just look me up on fanfiction.

 

~After time adrift among open stars, through tides of light and shoals of dust, I will return to where I began.”  Tali’Zorah vas Normandy-Mass Effect 2

One thought on “First Story: Terran

Leave a Reply

